Help center

Get an answer for any questions you may ask
about our service and cloud video encoding in general.

Billing FAQ

How does the billing process work?

On the 1st of each month, your credit card is charged according to the plan you have chosen. Each payment is applied toward plan use for that month. If you exceed your plan's limit for that month, the excess charges will appear on your next bill.

For example, assume that it is January and you subscribe to the starter plan priced at $5.00, which allows up to 5GB of data per month. You are charged $5.00 on January 1st. By the end of January you have actually used 7GB, which is 2GB more than your plan allows. On February 1st you are charged $5.00 for February plus $2.50 for each GB over the plan limit. Your total charges for January are the $5.00 base payment plus $5.00 for the additional 2GB, or a total of $10.00.

Upgrading your account

If you decide to upgrade from the free Test/Sandbox environment to a paid plan, you pay the total amount of your new plan up front. You receive the total monthly allotment of data for that month, which can be used until the last day of that month.

To illustrate, you decide to upgrade from the free plan to the starter plan, at $5.00 per month, on January 10th. You immediately receive the full monthly allotment of 5GB in your account and are charged $5.00 for January. You only used 2GB and so have 3GB left (=$3). On February 1st, you will be charged for your plan at $5 - $3 = $2. This only applies to the first invoice.

If you upgrade to a higher-level plan you are charged for the difference in price between your old plan and the new one. For example, you are in the starter plan priced at $5.00 per month and wish to upgrade to the medium-level plan priced at $20.00 per month. You pay only the difference between the two plans, which is $15.00.

Downgrading your account

You may downgrade to a lower-level plan at no charge. In this case the additional GB from the higher-level plan are forfeited, and the plan price difference cannot be refunded.

Cancelling your subscription

You can cancel your subscription at any time. It's free of charge unless you exceed your plan's limit. In that case, you will be immediately charged for the additional GB according to your plan's price.


Last updated on October 31, 2014.